Roadblocks/Lifeblocks

Standard

When I first came up with the No Time for Detours idea, I was thinking of detours as self chosen, things along the lines of Jennifer Louden’s shadow comforts and time monsters. I didn’t really consider roadblocks on my journey through Earth School

Yesterday I hit a life block. Things had been moving along quite magically, a friend sent a check just as money was running out, another friend offered to show some of my art which led to a gallery owner stopping by and showing interest. When I thought I wouldn’t see another friend’s son for weeks, suddenly he was in town and last weekend I got to spend several joy filled hours with my two favorite guys. My paintings have been flowing from my brush; my daily writings have been rolling off my pen, even my last blog wrote itself.

So what was the deal when just as I needed to do a bunch of paintings, I woke up to a stuffy head, a fogged brain and an exhausted body?

“This isn’t acceptable, I have things to do!” I thought as I sank back on the couch clutching my heating pad. I managed to do my cat-sitting gig, but that was it. Forget about detours, obviously I’d been standing in the road too long and gotten run over by a bus!

I toyed with forcing myself to paint, but that would be breaking my word to me, which was that I was only going to paint what called to me when it felt joyful to do so, so I let my paints rest untouched.

I thought about baking cookies for a friend and decided that for once, I’d take care of me first. So I made a cup of master cleanse, stretched out on my heating pad and was asleep before either cooled.

Hours later I woke up stiff from the couch and still brain fogged. I didn’t have enough synapses firing to feel guilty at my laziness, though I did move to another room and a different couch, at least I moved, I figured that counted for something.

At 7:00 one of the members of my writers group texted to say she felt like crap, had worked doing her lawyer stuff all day but was now going to bed and not going to make the call. I felt myself reply, “yippee, me neither” and canceled the call before crawling off to my own bed. My last thought for the day was “I’m scheduling feeling good for tomorrow!”

This morning I woke up with my brain in gear, my body willing (though my back wasn’t happy with me for all the couch sprawling) and the question, so what do you do when life sends you a roadblock?

Yesterday I needed the rest, I’d been going hundreds of miles an hour creating and manifesting. I was tapped out. When I pictured my energy from the last few weeks it was all going out. I’d become so wrapped up in what I was creating that walking Smudge, riding my bike, and even doing my morning stretches had all fallen by the wayside. I’d forget to eat while painting or writing then grab something easy and not particularly healthy. I was dancing with the muse and I wanted to take advantage while the music played.  It had to stop and it did. Life threw up a roadblock, surprising myself, I choose to surrender and pull off by the side of the road to wait.

How do we know when to wait for the obstruction to disappear, when do we go the long way, when do we bully forward over or though the darn thing? There are arguments for all three. I know there have been those late to work mornings when a traffic snafu has caused me to take the first turn off, scramble through back roads and unfamiliar territory to sometimes get where I’m going faster than if I’d waited. Sometimes, being the opportune word here, sometimes waiting works, sometimes moving works better.

Can we really know the answer I wonder or is it all a crapshoot?

onward and upward,

 

© C A Crossman and Dancing Through Life with Spirit, 2012.

4 responses »

  1. I would say that most times, the body will tell you when it needs rest rather you like it or not. Then if you do try to push pass, you not only hit a roadblock, but you hit it hard! On the other part about driving through the streets versus waiting in traffic. I really believe that the majority of the time, it takes longer than if I had waited. But unfortunately, I prefer to keep moving regardless of the additional time it takes. Impatient maybe? 🙂

    • Thanks for commenting. I too usually prefer to keep moving as well, through both literal and figurative road blocks. A decade ago I would have kept moving through not feeling 100% now I am a little more comfortable with giving myself permission to “pull off on the side of the road”and wait for the “block” to be cleared.

  2. CA, last week when you were posting this, I was needing to take the first real break I have had from writing and blogging almost all of my waking hours, except for animal and exercise time, since last September! Just very brief family and church slices worked in there! So I have found so many benefits to those couple days I slowed way day and just visited with friends, did some studying, refocused and regrouped. So I know exactly what you mean. I have been effortlessly flying along catching up with all you guys online and feel wonderful and full of creative juices! Hooray for us!

  3. Pingback: Detour on the road to fitness « Run4joy59's Blog

I'd really like to know what you think...let's talk!